30 Day Book Challenge, Interlude

30 Day Book Challenge: Day Thirteen

Book challenge

Day Thirteen – my favourite writer…

This was a tough one. Does the question mean favourite horror writer? Favourite fantasy writer? Favourite 18th century writer? 19th? Contemporary? Living? Dead?

It’s so hard to decide!

But then I had a think and realised there was one author who I discovered a few years ago and I’ve adored her books ever since.

picture

I had to go with Gillian Flynn not just because I love her writing and novels, but also because if I see something along the lines of “The next Gone Girl” or “Reads like Gillian Flynn” stamped across another book I will buy it and devour it (and sometimes find out I’ve been duped, but that’s a blog post for another time)

What a love about Flynn’s books are the fact they are nasty. These are gritty domestic thrillers that are not afraid to showcase women as just as dark and dangerous as men.

As Flynn says:

“Isn’t it time to acknowledge the ugly side? I’ve grown quite weary of the spunky heroines, brave rape victims, soul-searching fashionistas that stock so many books. I particularly mourn the lack of female villains — good, potent female villains. Not ill-tempered women who scheme about landing good men and better shoes (as if we had nothing more interesting to war over), not chilly WASP mothers (emotionally distant isn’t necessarily evil), not soapy vixens (merely bitchy doesn’t qualify either). I’m talking violent, wicked women. Scary women.”

If you want more then please check out the rest of Flynn’s essay “I was not a nice little girl” which gives an insight into her writing and the dark corners of her mind.

I need her to release another book. Now. (Pretty please?)

Leave a comment