30 Day Book Challenge, Interlude

30 Day Book Challenge: Day Fourteen

Book challenge

Day Fourteen: a book turned into a movie and completely desecrated…

Surely the answer is the majority of films based on books are not as good as the book? Okay, some are decent, watchable, and some can be pretty good, so what would be my pick for a film that completely desecrated the book?

The first one that comes to mind is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

 

I’m not a big fan of the Harry Potter film adaptions on the whole, but when I saw this  one at the cinema I felt a growing hatred for it’s messy portrayal of one of my favourite books in the series. It’s a sore spot because I know the film received glowing reviews and it still surprises me that it’s considered one of the best Harry Potter films.

A few of my niggles:

  • Why do they not wear their school uniforms or robes?
  • Harry doesn’t get the Firebolt at Christmas
  • No backstory for Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot & Prongs
  • There’s only one Hippocriff
  • Harry uses magic over the summer, when we know that would get him a warning.

And that’s just a few that spring to mind. Okay, desecrated might be too strong a word to use, but all these little changes add up and frustrate me.

 

 

Leave a comment